

CONTACT Scott Johnson Executive Director Iowa FFA Association scott.johnson@iowaffa.com 515-965-7376 www.iowaffa.com

# News Release

# Montezuma FFA Wins Iowa FFA Farm Business Management CDE

AMES, IOWA--The Montezuma FFA Chapter from Montezuma was named the Champion Team in the annual Iowa FFA Farm Management Career Development Event on April 12, 2022. Members of the first place team included: Mia Boulton, Maguire De Jong, Madison Johannes, and Coleton Benson. Their agriculture education instructors and FFA advisors are Mr. Rick Swenson and Ms Hannah Garland. The Adel DeSoto Minburn FFA Chapter from Adel was named the Reserve Champion Team. Members of the second place team included: Dustin Barker, Lexi Claibourn, Jacob Crystal, and Shaelyn Wiederien. Their agriculture education instructor and FFA advisor is Ms. McKenzie Gettler. Mia Boulton, Montezuma FFA, Montezuma, was named the High Individual Overall in the competition. The Adel DeSoto Minburn FFA Chapter from Adel was the winner of the Team Participation Activity.

FFA teams from 100 chapters participated in this year's Career Development Event designed to provide the student an opportunity to display their agricultural knowledge and skills in the area of Farm Management. The 367 individuals who participated in the event each completed an objective test which had three sections: economic principles, records and analysis, and risk management. All team members worked together to solve a problem related to break even analysis.

The Iowa FFA Farm Business Management Career Development Event was made possible with support from Hertz Farm Management through the Iowa FFA Foundation. Mr. Craig McEnany, Student Services Coordinator at Iowa State University, Ames, Iowa, was the Career Development Event coordinator and prepared the test.

## Top 10 Teams

- 1 Montezuma FFA, Montezuma
- 2 Adel DeSoto Minburn FFA
- 3 Sioux Central FFA, Sioux Rapids
- 4 Starmont FFA, Arlington
- 5 West Lyon FFA, Inwood
- 6 Mediapolis FFA, Mediapolis
- 7 Boyer Valley FFA, Dunlap
- 8 West Delaware FFA, Manchester
- 9 Wapello FFA, Wapello
- 10 Little Switzerland FFA, Waukon

## Top 10 Individuals

Mia Boulton, Montezuma FFA, Montezuma Maguire De Jong, Montezuma FFA, Montezuma Coleton Benson, Montezuma FFA, Montezuma Madison Johannes, Montezuma FFA, Montezuma Jesse Wulf, West Lyon FFA, Inwood Melana Followwill, Davis County FFA, Bloomfield Kameron Zeka, Sioux Central FFA, Sioux Rapids Cody Monaghan, West Delaware FFA, Manchester Dustin Barker, Adel DeSoto Minburn FFA Clayton Ehlers, Sioux Central FFA, Sioux Rapids Below is a list of chapters participating by medal group.

#### Gold Teams (31)

Montezuma FFA, Montezuma Adel DeSoto Minburn FFA Sioux Central FFA, Sioux Rapids Starmont FFA, Arlington West Lyon FFA, Inwood Mediapolis FFA, Mediapolis Boyer Valley FFA, Dunlap West Delaware FFA, Manchester Wapello FFA, Wapello Little Switzerland FFA, Waukon Hawkeye FFA, West Bend Holland FFA, Orange City Unity Christian FFA West Fork FFA Central Lee FFA, Donnellson Davis County FFA, Bloomfield Sibley-Ocheyedan FFA, Sibley Algona FFA, Algona Decorah FFA, Decorah North Scott FFA at Eldridge Vinton-Shellsburg FFA, Vinton Audubon FFA, Audubon Edgewood-Colesburg FFA, Edgewood Northeast FFA, Goose Lake Le Mars FFA Chapter, Le Mars Independence FFA, Independence Iowa River FFA, Garner Osage FFA, Osage Brokaw FFA, Clarinda Nashua Plainfield FFA, Nashua Riceville FFA, Riceville

#### Bronze Teams (36)

Maquoketa Valley FFA Pilot Creek FFA, Pocahontas HLV, Victor South Hamilton FFA, Jewell Creston FFA, Creston Central Lyon FFA, Rock Rapids Van Buren Harmony FFA Chapter at Keosauqua Dallas Center-Grimes FFA, Grimes Hillcrest Academy FFA, Kalona North Butler Akron-Westfield FFA, Akron Boyden-Hull FFA, Hull Maquoketa FFA, Maquoketa

#### Silver Teams (33)

North Fayette Valley FFA, West Union Southeast Warren FFA, Liberty Center MMCRU FFA Earlham FFA, Earlham South Central Calhoun FFA, Lake City Collins-Maxwell FFA, Maxwell OABCIG Turkey Valley at Jackson Junction ACGC FFA West Dubuque FFA, Epworth Diamond Trail FFA, Monroe Monticello FFA MVAO FFA Greene County FFA, Jefferson Humboldt FFA, Humboldt Cascade FFA Hinton FFA Chapter Iowa Falls-Alden FFA, Iowa Falls T-55 FFA Benton Community FFA, Van Horne Bondurant-Farrar FFA Bison FFA, Buffalo Center New Hampton FFA, New Hampton Hartley-Melvin-Sanborn FFA Rock Valley FFA Carroll Area FFA, Carroll Sigourney FFA, Sigourney Easton Valley FFA, Preston Mt. Pleasant FFA Agri-Power FFA, Eddyville Belle Plaine FFA Atlantic FFA, Atlantic Fremont-Mills FFA, Tabor

East Union FFA, Afton Wapsie Valley FFA, Fairbank West Marshall FFA, State Center Sumner-Fredericksburg FFA Davis-Rodgers FFA, Shenandoah East Sac FFA, Lake View Western Christian FFA, Hull Estherville FFA, Estherville St. Ansgar FFA, St. Ansgar Lynnville-Sully FFA Highland FFA, Riverside Mount Ayr FFA, Mount Ayr South O'Brien FFA Interstate 35 FFA Hudson FFA Chapter, Hudson Tri-County FFA, Thornburg Waverly-Shell Rock FFA, Waverly Murray FFA, Murray Manson-Northwest Webster FFA, Manson Linn-Mar FFA, Marion Sioux Center FFA, Sioux Center Denison FFA, Denison Alburnett FFA, Alburnett

###

#### About Iowa FFA Association

The Iowa FFA Association is a youth organization of more than 18,300 student members as part of 252 local FFA chapters across Iowa. The FFA mission is to make a positive difference in the lives of students by developing their potential for premier leadership, personal growth and career success through agricultural education. The Iowa FFA Association was organized by delegates from 23 schools at Iowa State College on May 17, 1929 and is an integral part of public instruction in agriculture. The Iowa Department of Education provides leadership and helps set direction for FFA as a service to local agricultural education programs. For more, visit the Iowa FFA Association online at IowaFFA.com, on Facebook, and Twitter.